SWALLOW THE SUN To Release ‘When A Shadow Is Forced Into The Light’ Album In January

Tuesday, 13 November 2018

Finnish melancholy death-doom metal masters SWALLOW THE SUN will release their new album, “When A Shadow Is Forced Into The Light”, on January 25, 2019 through Century Media Records. Only one month earlier, on December 21, they will release a standalone 14-minute epic single track called “Lumina Aurea”, both digitally and as a 12-inch EP vinyl version.

Fueled by personal loss (the album title has its origins in TREES OF ETERNITY‘s “Broken Mirror”) and powered by the will to continue, “When A Shadow Is Forced Into The Light” showcases the group’s ability to maintain its signature sound while expanding upon horizons and diving deeper into the crevasse of doom-death metal. Even though the single and the album are conceptually connected, they are musically completely different. While “Lumina Aurea” — featuring WARDRUNA‘s Einar Selvik and THE FORESHADOWING‘s Marco I. Benevento — marks the band’s darkest and most sinister piece of music the band has ever released, “When A Shadow Is Forced Into The Light” follows a more positive approach and continues in the vein of previous albums — first-rate death-doom in the typical style of SWALLOW THE SUN.

“When A Shadow Is Forced Into The Light” track listing:

01. When A Shadow Is Forced Into The Light
02. The Crimson Crown
03. Firelights
04. Upon The Water
05. Stone Wings
06. Clouds On Your Side
07. Here On The Black Earth
08. Never Left

“Lumina Aurea” track listing:

01. Lumina Aurea
02. Lumina Aurea (instrumental version)

Comments are closed.

Menu Title