ENTER SHIKARI To Release ‘The Spark’ Album In September

Tuesday, 01 August 2017

Warning: array_key_exists(): The first argument should be either a string or an integer in /home/genzelca/public_html/soth/wp-includes/cache.php on line 725

British rockers ENTER SHIKARI will release their new album, “The Spark”, on September 22.

The official video for the first single from the disc, “Live Outside”, can be seen below.

“The Spark” is an ambitious, inspiring piece of work that poignantly reflects their legendary career rise to have become one of the biggest and most exciting bands the U.K. has ever seen. Following four seminal albums, of which three have been Top 10 overseas, “The Spark” is produced by David Kosten (EVERYTHING EVERYTHING, BAT FOR LASHES), and is SHIKARI‘s most melodic and personal album to date; a soundtrack to our tumultuous world, a record for everyone who’s filled with frustration but hasn’t lost the capacity for hope.

“The spark is a new connection, a new beginning,” says maverick frontman Rou Reynolds. “It can be short and insignificant, but it can create something so significant. The spark is that light at the end of the tunnel — when everything seems to be falling apart, but you’re able to see some sort of path out of the dark.”

In 2015, the ground started to fall from under Rou Reynolds‘s feet. He had been having occasional panic attacks for years, but hadn’t put a name to the problem until that brutal summer. Frayed by touring and heavy professional expectations, he started self-medicating, which backfired massively.

The world was also spinning on its axis. Brexit. Trump. Terrorism. The steady dismantling of the NHS. The biting effects of austerity. The kind of social issues that have been ENTER SHIKARI‘s lifeblood for almost a decade now.

“The Spark” track listing:

01. The Spark
02. The Sights
03. Live Outside
04. Take My Country Back
05. Airfield
06. Rabble Rouser
07. Shinrin-yoku
08. Undercover Agents
09. The Revolt Of The Atoms
10. An Ode To Lost Jigsaw Pieces (In Two Movements)
11. The Embers

ENTER SHIKARI‘s only announced U.S. show will take place on Saturday, September 30 at an all-ages matinee album release party happening at Brooklyn’s Rough Trade (64 N. 9th St. Brooklyn, NY 11211). Entry is limited to those who preorder “The Spark” in the store.

Photo credit: Jennifer McCord

Comments are closed.

Menu Title